”Yes the electricity is back!”

22/10/11

I woke up and the power was out and since water is pumped up from the ground up to a header tank, there was no water even to flush the toilets. I went out hunting for Peace Guesthouse and this American dude who also stayed at Potala Inn showed me where it was. The rooms were so much nicer, clean white sheets and the owner, Longlife was really helpful and could speak English. So I packed my gear and headed over.

I spent the rest of the day walking around town. It’s a pretty ordinary place that’s much bigger than Tagong and Danba. One thing I don’t like about it is that it seems like there’re alot of Han Chinese in town. It doesn’t have that ‘Wild West’ feel of Tagong.

22102011850.jpg

22102011852.jpg

I visited the Monastery during the arvo and just relaxed in the evening.

It seems like there are frequent electricity outages in Litang as I have already experienced 3 in 1 day. All the foreigners staying at Potala Inn last night also moved to Peace Guesthouse so we all chilled out in the lounge and chatted with the owner, Longlife. He said he was sponsored to go to school in India when he was young and stayed there for 7 years. He’d previously worked for Potala Inn and now started his own guesthouse.

It seems like the go is that Tibetans don’t like doing business with Chinese. He said that they’re always complaining about bits and pieces like how the TV doesn’t work this and that. He says during National Holidays he charged 600-1000 RMB for a room to Chinese whilst charging 20RMB for foreigners to stay at his house. He also talked about Tibetans and their knives that they carry and how they usee them in fights and also mentioned how each family has a shotgun!

Having seen posters of Yading National Park all over guesthouses, I’ve decided to sus it out online. It’s south of Daocheng and looks quite nice so I’m going to head in that direction before Shangrila. I’ve still got just under 3 weeks so I’m trying to find stuff to fill my time. Hopefully I will find some really cool places off the beaten track to check out.

By the way, in every form of transport
whether it’s minivan, bus or motorbike, there’s always a TV or at least music blasting out. More specifically, Tibetan music. After 11hr bus rides with Tibetan music on repeat, I’ve got a fair understanding of the most popular songs along with commonly used lyrics such as ”cao yuan” – grassland, ”drolma” and ”gao yuan” – high altitudes. Lets just say I can’t wait to get back onto the trance train when I get home.

Posted by Wordmobi

About peetiez

I'm 24 and from Melbourne. =D
This entry was posted in Litang. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

