“the happiness level of Singaporeans are the lowest in the world… 2nd after Iraq”

31/3/13

During my limited time in Singapore… I have already had 2 randoms complain to me… Man Singaporeans are the biggest downers! All they do is whine and complain about how unsatisfied they are. Hahaha so damn funny. I just want to backhand them and tell them to go Tarek themselves (‘pull’ in Malay… You may have come across this word when having your morning pull… ed tea).

image

I spent today at the zoo. People have told me how large this zoo is…. And once again… Think it’s associated with the ceebsness and complaining of Singaporeans…. Cause the zoo isn’t that big… It’s not all that much bigger than the Perth zoo yet they have a shuttle bus to take people around. I also noticed that Google Maps here in Singapore has adopted to the local walking rate. When you choose directions via public transport, it’ll say it is 800m to the nearest bus stop etc…. And the associated time to walk that 800m on Google Maps happens to be 25min….are you freakin serious?! I walked it in under 5min!.. Even Google Maps is lazy in Singapore.

Ok back to the zoo. Yeah it was pretty cool. They claim they are more of an open style zoo where they try and have a few animals together in the natural looking habitats however I only saw this a few enclosures. Nevertheless it was awesome to see the orangutans… So much so that I was called on stage to challenge an orangutan peeling the shell off a coconut. So embarrassing cause I got pooned! I had a log to bash mine on whilst the mother orangutan had a little baby clinging onto her back and ripped all the shell of clean using her teeth and hands before I could rip anything off =( it was amazing to see an orangutan so close up that’s for sure. If I was to have any pet in the world, I’d want an orangutan.

image

Here’s a photo of a pigmy hippopotamus! How cute is it! So fat and so slopery.

Whilst waiting for the elephant show… It started to bucket down and the show was canned. The rain didn’t stop and ended up waiting under the shelter for what felt like 20min. There was a mother with 2 kids sitting in front of me. All of a sudden I hear “look! Daddy is back”. Turn to look at the man she was talking about. He was completely drenched from head to toe. Beads of water fogged up his glasses, his hair was flat on his head and in his hand he carried a plastic bag. The little boy laughed and his mum instantly cut him off, “don’t laugh at daddy”. Daddy started pulling out the contents out of the plastic bag and started handing them out. He bought ponchos for his two kids and wife. Together with his wife, they dressed their children. The father didn’t complain once and patiently talked to his little girl as he helped her with her poncho. Together hand in hand, they left the shelter and entered the rain. Seeing that was really inspiring for me cause it reminds me of the things my parents did for me and the sacrifices they made to get me to where I am today. Not once did they complain or made me feel like I owe them anything. They’ve always put me and my sister before themselves. I’m really bad with words and expressing my feelings and have never told them how much I appreciate them. I hope one day I can express that to them and be just like that father and put his family before himself.

After the zoo, we went food hunting. I’m on a bit of a mission to tick off all the awesome hawkers centres in Singapore and it has been so awesome. We went to Dunman Food Centre and tried the prawn Mee and the char kwei teow. I thought the char kwei teow at old airport road hawkers Centre was good… This smashed it out of the park! It was even better with chilli. I also had a drink that was a mix of soya been and herbal jelly and that had a really interesting flavour.

image

On the way home, I hit up 7 eleven for a sour apple slurpee =) made me so happy and was an awesome end to the day.

1/4/13

There’s nothing like having a warm cup of Tek Tarek or Holicks with breakfast. It’s the perfect way to kick start the day. The drinks in Singapore are super sweet… Surprised diabetes isn’t more massive here….

Anyways today me and Ning hit up Universal Studios! I was so psyched cause its been so many years since I’ve been to a theme park.

image

We forked out the hefty $70 entrance fee and away we went.

image

First thing we did was lined up for the Transformers ride. The wait time on the sign said 60min….ok… Walked in and the queue wasn’t too long and it was slowly moving so morale was high.

image

image

image

The “short” line kept going once we went inside… And going and going for another 4 rooms… =( neverthrless we finally made it, picked up our “eye protection” and jumped into transformer “Evac” and rode him like a bull. It was an awesome ride! 3D ride where the car feels like it travels very fast and even some huge drops. Very impressive in its design because reality is the car doesn’t move all that much at all, it’s all the shaking, wind and the movie that makes you feel like your actually moving.

image

image

Next stop was battlestar galactica. There are 2 lines, one for the blue ride and one of the red. Wait time thankfully was only 5 minutes for each. The blue was a ride where you were hung from above that does alot of loops whereas the red was more your more traditional bottom supported roller coaster.

image

image

Revenge of the Mummy wasn’t bad. The enclosure was really well designed with hieroglyphics and huge statues inside. The ride progressively gets awesome then BAM! comes to a sudden end… I bit like how I end my blogs I was told…

image

The rides kinda got progressively worse. We waited 40min for the Jurassic Park ride, got nearly to the front and they stopped the ride due to “severe” weather conditions…. There wasn’t a drop of rain in the sky…. I guess they didn’t want people to get electrocuted if lightning strikes. We bailed and ticked off all the other not so popular rides… They were not so popular for a reason… they were crap. We also watched the Water world show which was pretty impressive. It was similar to the Warner Bros. Movie World police academy stunt show but this time, with water and jet skis.

image

After a huge day, we headed to Lau Po Sat for satays and beer. The satays were so delicious! Between us we smashed over 30 skewers.

image

image

2/4/13

Its come to the end of the journey… I had breakfast and headed to back to Uni Qlo to pick up my altered pants. Packed and off I went for the airport. As always, Tiger Airways wasn’t on time but nevertheless I had an amazing time getting amongst the touristy and local side if Singapore. I feel like I’m slightly more educated in Malay and more inspired to climb harder.

It’s come to the end. I’m on the plane back to Perth. Hopefully it won’t be too long before I put up another trip blog. Have plans to head to the States for a climbing trip sometime next year so fingers crossed!

About peetiez

I'm 24 and from Melbourne. =D
This entry was posted in Singapore and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

