“we’re doing the 5.9 tour of Indian Creek”

image

The sun peeked through the fly of my tent making the inside of the tent glow… These are one of the rare moments in my life where I can be camping and not set an alarm to wake up. It’s actually really nice compared to the 5:30am alarm I have set permanently on my phone. I got out of my tent and Em was already up. We started boiling water for coffee and Cilvie popped out of her tent.

I’m so lucky to be sharing my life with these girls right now. I get to experience all these new foods that I would never have expedienced before. Maple jam, homemade jam, almond butter, homemade yoghurt … You name it. The girls stocked up on food whilst I was on the plane and it was amazing. Was kinda nervous putting my life in someone else’s hands at first but I’m slowly getting used to it and it’s nice.

image

image

We decided to go to Donnelly Canyon for our first day. I remember the first time I came and looked at the guidebook I had no idea what I was looking at… All the features of the wall looked the same from below and I found it really hard to pick out the lines. Now it’s super easy and I’m proud of myself that I’ve gotten better at route reading after nearly 2 years.

The first climb we did was Chocolate Corner which was a 5.9 with thin hands. I have fat hands so found it hard.

image

The second climb we did was Binou’s Crack which has a short offwidth section in it.

image

image

image

I brought my Ravpower 15w solar panel along with my Xiaomi 20000mah Power bank which has been working amazing! I get a decent charge during breakfast when the sun comes out and I end up topping up my power bank and phone at the crag! Super efficient even when its cloudy.

image

image

image

The classic of the day was Generic Crack 5.10 which was 120′ of hand jams with a few wide sections in it… Super pumped and athletic.

image

We still had time at the end of the day so I jumped on Elephant Man 5.10 which was a much more varied climb more of a Yosemite style climb.

We got home and made qeuesdillas for dinner with mash sweet potato, avocado, beans, rice and corn! It was amazing!

About peetiez

I'm 24 and from Melbourne. =D
This entry was posted in Climbing, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

